Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

MyMonday July 9, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 7:20 pm

I was really excited about sharing about yesterday’s sermon today on my blog…it was really good, and I took great notes for the purpose of reminding myself of the truths again, since I am a forgetful person…and I will still share about it… but it will have to be a little later.  Why, you might ask?  The most pertinent reason is that I can’t find my bulletin.  It may be somewhere in my crazy living room, which, at the moment includes the following: a tent made of chairs and blankets, Jack’s musical instruments, tools, crayons, and the books we checked out today when we went to the library (not an exhaustive list, but you get the idea.)  I found my Bible, but my bulletin is strangely missing.  Actually, its rather astonishing that I’m sitting here writing instead of taking this opportunity to clean.  For me, that’s saying a lot.  It feels a little bit freeing…

Instead, I will make this post a random one, to go along with my random Monday mentality.  It’s just that kind of a day.

Ready?  🙂

First, an update on my last post.  The water pressure is still really weak in the kitchen (that’s the only place we have a problem, by the way, which I’m thankful for, since I very strongly prefer a shower every day).  I have been lugging hot water to the kitchen from the bathroom, which, although inconvenient, is getting the job done…mostly.  We figured out that it has something to do with the work that our neighbors (Dennis and Hilda in Unit 1) were having done over the weekend.  They’re checking on it with their plumber.

Lemon Verbena Ice Cream Update:  Its creamy and delightful, if you ask me.  If you ask my husband, he will tell you “it tastes like plants”, which really means that it has a lemon-herby feel to it…quite refreshing to those who enjoy finer things and appreciate the taste of different herbs.  Ryan perfers your standard Rocky Road, or especially Coldstone Ice Cream, where he can make his own Chocolate/Peanut Butter/Graham cracker concoction (also very yummy, I have to admit).  I tasted a lovely Lavender Ice Cream once up in Seattle when we were visiting family, and our reactions then were pretty much identical to the ones above.  We don’t have a 3rd opinion yet, so I’ll let you know if anyone else adds their 2 cents.

Besides the great sermon yesterday, we spent a nice afternoon at my parents’ house, where Jack initiated his new “paddling pool” (a term borrowed from Kipper, a little dog with a wonderful British accent who has all sorts of adventures, one of them including a paddling pool…Jack’s Great Aunt Laurine got 2 Kipper videos for him and now we’re all hooked…even found Kipper books at the library!).  Then, in the evening, Ryan and I went to Disneyland with my sister, which was super fun, as always…as if Disneyland could ever not be fun.

I keep thinking of fun topics I want to blog about now…Disneyland, Summer Adventures,  (including the paddling pool, of course), what I’m learning from a great book I’m reading on parenting called “Don’t Make Me Count to Three”, My Favorite Things…oh, the fun that awaits! 

 

5 Responses to “MyMonday”

  1. Ellen Says:

    I’m waiting for it. Those Kipper videos sound great.
    Plumbing next door affecting yours, it’s beginning to sound like the China posts I read about Josh and Laura’s pals the Johnsons…

  2. ML in Michigan Says:

    I asked some friends if they new what Lemon Verbena was – they all said a “plant”…. so reading your comments about it’s taste brought a smile to my face:) I’m sure Jack loves the “paddling pool”! I’ve never heard of Kipper videos, I’ll have to check them out and get one.

  3. Lana G! Says:

    Freeing indeed! 🙂

  4. Ralina Says:

    I guess the above comment answers my Lemon Verbena question. Plant ice cream, huh? I think I’ll have to throw my lot in with Ryan =).

  5. Virginia Says:

    As a passionate “foodie” or food lover, I am ALL about the ‘herby’ flavors! I love Lemon Verbena and think it a fabulous choice for homemade ice cream. Ice cream/gelato is my most favorite food, mint chip having been a lifelong favorite. But I’ve enjoyed an Italian gelato here in San Fran that makes a mint ice cream that tastes completely of fresh mint leaves, not sweetened mint flavor. I find it refreshing & beautiful. Also, basil ice cream is amazing. Herbs all the way. Keep on that herb trek – you may convert Ryan yet!


Leave a Reply

