Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

My Sweet Sweet Son July 13, 2007

Filed under: Jack Stories — Michelle @ 5:03 pm

Recently, I had a “struggling” sort of day…personally, physically, spiritually…it was just hard.  At one point, I was on the phone with my mom, and I was crying (it is an inexpressible comfort to have a mom to call when you need her…even at almost 30).  What happened next shows just a glimpse of the sensitive heart of my little boy:  Jack came over to me with a concerned look on his face, patted my knee, and said, “I’m gonna pray for you, Mommy.”  To which I responded with even more tears, at the sheer sweetness of his little, 2-year-old person.  (Don’t worry…it gets worse)  I knew I had to get it together, but my composure continued to be threatened with his next gesture – he left for a second, and returned with a tissue, then proceeded to say, “I’ll wipe your tears, Mommy” and he did just that (yep…tearing up again as I write this). At this point, my tears had turned into tears of joy and gratitude to a God who would allow me to be the Mommy of such a little one…he brought a few of his “friends” (Patches the dog, Tigger, Big Bear, and Bob and Larry–side note: if you ever need some comfort, plush veggies are really helpful), and told me that they would “hug you and make you happy”.  And you know what?  Things weren’t so bad after that.

We’ve had our days recently…after all, they don’t call them the “Terrible Two’s” for nothing…but this particular day was a reminder that being a Mommy is the best job in the whole world, and that God shows His love in many ways, especially in the face and words of a sweet little boy named Jack.

 jack-bball-hat-2.jpg

pict5690.jpg

pict5355.jpg

 

pict5752.jpg

 

8 Responses to “My Sweet Sweet Son”

  1. M Lou Says:

    How precious is it all – Mom, Jack, everything. A lump in my throat and tear in my eye reading this. That day will be one of God’s “markers” in your life. Great choice in pics too 🙂
    luv you all.

  2. Lana G! Says:

    Oh my oh my! Tearing myself reading this! Sooooo precious.

  3. Ellen Says:

    Love those tender heart moments…wet eyes,
    So glad I get to read about it.

  4. bridget Says:

    Now I can’t wait till my boy is 2! Jack sounds so sweet.

  5. Laura Says:

    Absolutely precious Michelle. I love that you have this blog to share such sweet and tender moments. And praise to God for His gentle way of showing you His love through Jack’s. I love you too!

  6. Kathy Says:

    What a sweetheart! He is ever surprising us.
    Love you all.

  7. Vera Says:

    All I can say through the tears is thank you Lord for blessing us with this wonderful little boy who we love so dearly.

  8. Ralina Says:

    I have noticed these same kinds of contrasts with Sofia…that loving heart speaking words of wisdom and then throwing tantrums. I think God had to put in those awesome moments to help us through the difficult ones!

    Thanks for sharing such a sweet story. I wish we could be there to see Jack growing up!!


Leave a Reply

