Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

64 Years September 13, 2007

Filed under: Family and Friends — Michelle @ 9:48 am

Today is my grandparents’ 64th anniversary…64 YEARS!!  That’s a long time.  My Baba and Deda are an amazing example of what it means to love God wholeheartedly, love each other faithfully, and love their family (8 children and their spouses, 17 grandchildren (almost 18…one’s in the oven due in January), 3 of their spouses, and 2 great-grandchildren) generously and often even sacrificially.  Rather than sit back and relax when they retired, they traveled to Russia to live in a rural village and start a church.  It was as un-relaxing as retirement life could be, yet they served willingly and cheerfully.  Now that they are back in the U.S., they serve the Lord tirelessly and faithfully in their church, following Christ’s command to care for orphans and widows. They are unselfish and humble, showing true Christian love even when it is not returned or appreciated, even by some of their own family members.  Once or twice a month, Baba and Deda have quite a few of us (my mom, aunts, sister, cousin, and Jack and me) over to their tiny apartment for dinner, where Baba “whips up” something new and DULICIOUS, and Deda is always willing to help in any way.  When Ryan and I got married, Baba and Deda’s advice for us was  “Don’t shove anything under the rug…talk about it and always ask each other for forgiveness.  Do everything together.”  Simple, but so true.  They have practiced this advice in their own marriage, and have taught their children to do the same.  Because of their example, our family is uniquely close, and we truly enjoy spending time together.  We know what is going on with each other and we care and we pray for one another.  I truly believe this is largely because of the way that the two of them have lived their lives. 

I feel so honored that God chose to bless me with Moisi and Nadia Bagdanov as my grandparents.  I pray that my life exemplifies the qualities that they have lived out so faithfully. 

 

Happy Anniversary, Baba and Deda!

collage10.jpg

 

But let all who take refuge in You be glad;

Let them ever sing for joy;
And may You shelter them,

That those who love Your name may exult in You.

For it is You who blesses the righteous man, O LORD,

You surround him with favor as with a shield.

Psalm 5:11-12

 

For you have heard my vows, O God;

You have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

Psalm 61:5

 

6 Responses to “64 Years”

  1. Leonard Says:

    that’s a great tribute Michelle – you are a very special and blessed grandaughter and niece – We love you!

  2. Lana G! Says:

    Okay, you have awesome pictures of them!!!

    Great tribute!

    Love you tons too!

  3. Mary Lou Says:

    With a lump in my throat…..you were very, very blessed to have grown up with such Godly Grandparents!! My love to them!

  4. Ralina Says:

    What a rich heritage! I’m glad I’ve had the chance to spend some time with them over the years =).

  5. Ellen Says:

    Love, love, love your beautiful tribute. OK the camping photo is priceless and I love the photo of them in the back seat! We are blessed indeed!!

  6. […] My grandparents (Baba and Deda) who are a tremendous example of faithful service to the Lord and deep love for one another and their family (I posted a tribute for their anniversary here).  […]


Leave a Reply

