Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

Trials, Affliction, and Learning to Wait September 22, 2007

Filed under: Bible,Learning — Michelle @ 1:16 pm

During the past year, I feel like the Lord has brought into my life (and into the lives of many close friends and family members) the opportunity to wait on Him.  The waiting looks different for each of us… waiting for a health issue to be healed, waiting for a relationship to be mended, waiting for marriage, waiting for a baby, waiting for financial security, just to name a few…but in each case, the time frame that we would choose is vastly different than the one the Lord seems to have. 

In my case, there are 2 specific things this year that I expected and really thought would be resolved in my life and the life of my family.  In God’s good plan, He has chosen differently, and neither one of those has come to pass.  Sometimes I have been patient, but most of the time, I regret to say that my first response when faced with an unexpected change of my plans (or the realization that what I wanted and prayed for isn’t happening) is, “Ummmm…hello, Lord…this is not in the plan…THE plan, remember?  MY plan?”

I would even go so far as to say that in my own life, waiting has become a trial…an affliction that threatens to send my soul into doubt and despair.  My faith feels weak and pride seeps into my mind until I feel overwhelmed at the enormity of it all.

Recently, there have been a few things that God has graciously put before me that have encouraged and challenged my heart, and humbled my proud spirit.  I’m so thankful that even though I struggle with the same things over and over and over and over, my Lord is loving and patient and kind and generous.  So unlike me. 

A few weeks ago, my aunt Lana called and shared a passage of scripture with me — Habakkuk 2:3 (we were especially excited that the name of my blog appears in the Bible!!)  Although I know that when you look at the verse in context, my little desires are really insignificant in comparison to Habakkuk’s vision,  I was so encouraged by the good reminder that God’s sovereign plan is over all things, and His purposes will not be thwarted.

“For the vision is yet for the appointed time;

It hastens toward the goal and it will not fail.

Though it tarries,

Wait for it;

For it will certainly come, it will not delay.” 

                                                      Habakkuk 2:3

Then, this past week, after a deep conversation with a dear friend, she forwarded an excerpt by Thomas Watson (a Puritan author) that was challenging to me…if I really desire to be like Christ, and to be who he wants me to be, then I will look at afflictions and trials not as terrible and overwhelming things, but as refining and purifying opportunities for God’s glory to be better seen through me!  I’m including the whole thing, although it is long, because it was a wonderful encouragement to me, and I hope it will be to you, too.  I put the thoughts that especially challenged me in bold.

God’s Flail

(Thomas Watson, 1620-1686)

God’s children may sometimes be under sore afflictions.
They have no charter of exemption from trouble, in this
life. While the wicked are kept in sugar–the godly are
often kept in brine.

And, indeed, how could God’s power be seen in bringing
them out of trouble–if He did not sometimes bring them
into it? How could God wipe away the tears from their
eyes in heaven–if on earth they shed none?

Doubtless, God sees there is need that His children should
be sometimes in the house of bondage. “If need be, you
are in heaviness.” 1 Peter 1:6. The body sometimes needs
a bitter portion–more than a sweet one.

“You refined us like silver. You brought us into prison
 and laid burdens on our backs.” Psalm 66:10, 11

Why does God bring His people into an afflicted state?

God gives affliction–to purge our corruption. The eye,
though a tender part–yet when infected, we put sharp
medicines into it, to purge out the disease. Just so,
though the people of God are dear to Him as the apple
of His eye–yet, when corruption begins to grow in them,
He will apply the sharp medicine of affliction
to purge
out the disease.

Affliction is God’s flail to beat off our husks.

Affliction is a means God uses to purge out
sloth, luxury, pride, and love of the world.

God’s furnace is not to consume–but to refine.

God gives us more affliction–that we may have less sin!

God also gives affliction to increase our graces.
Grace
thrives most in the iron furnace.
Grace in the saints is
often as fire hidden in the embers; affliction is the
bellows to blow it up into a flame!

God sanctifies all our afflictions. They shall not be
destructive punishments–but medicines! They shall
corrode and eat out the venom of sin! They shall polish
and refine our grace! The more the diamond is cut–the
more it sparkles.
The more God afflicts us–the more
our graces cast a sparkling luster!

The stones which are cut out for a building, are first
hewn and squared. The godly are called “living stones.”
1 Peter 2:5. God hews and polishes them by affliction,
that they may be fit for the heavenly building.

 

Oh, that I may have the grace to accept affliction as God’s sanctifiying work in my life, and to praise Him for purging out the disease that sin brings.

 

20 Responses to “Trials, Affliction, and Learning to Wait”

  1. Ralina Says:

    Wow, what more can be said? Thank you for being willing to share from the depths of your heart too. God has been showing me some interesting things on a parallel path to the one He has been leading you upon. I guess that will have to be my next blog =). Love you always…

    PS Habakkuk has long been one of my favorite books!

  2. Ellen Says:

    And oh that I may, too. Thanks for sharing this with us Michelle…

  3. Kathy Says:

    It is so hard to wait. Keep trusting and waiting and God will show Himself to be faithful. Thanks for sharing so much from your heart.

  4. Miss Says:

    Wow, what an beautiful entry! I know I say this all the time, but I’m going to say it again….keep “waiting for it!” I have faith that in due time, God will bring you through this. And what an amazing testimony you’ll have when He does (not that you don’t already have an amazing testimony, but you know what I mean 🙂 ). I love you!

  5. bridget Says:

    I love your heart. I hate waiting, too! But God has certainly refined me in the fire of it 🙂

  6. Lana G! Says:

    Wonderful Word! Though it linger…

  7. Mary Lou Says:

    I sure empathize and connect with what you say. I always think “wow, it’s amazing that scripture says God is ALWAYS patient and waits for US to come around to his ways” even if he has to REFINE us. Yet I am thankful for it…refining does draw us closer to Him!
    Bless you Michelle…..

  8. Laura Says:

    Thank you for your honesty and for sharing the encouragement from this excerpt. I join you in this prayer–may our Mighty Lord continue to refine us as He sees fit and may we accept that refining by grace and with faith. Waiting with and loving you…

  9. Veronica Says:

    Hi Michelle,
    Just recently found your blog. 🙂 You have an adorable little boy!
    This was a great post, and a much-needed (and very encouraging) reminder…Learning to patiently wait on God’s sovereign plan, rather than selfishly fighting Him for my own way…
    “Oh, that I may have the grace to accept affliction as God’s sanctifiying work in my life, and to praise Him for purging out the disease that sin brings.”
    Well said!!

  10. Jane Goody Says:

    This is quite a up-to-date info. I think I’ll share it on Facebook.

  11. Ted Cabrales Says:

    Spotted your web site via bing the other day and absolutely liked it so much. Carry on the great work.

  12. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you continue your great writing,
    have a nice day!

  13. Alexandra Says:

    Remarkable! Its actually remarkable piece of writing, I have
    got much clear idea concerning from this paragraph.

  14. First, be sure that you choose the right account type for your needs.

    Implement a management system to flag suspicious transactions.
    00 each = a fee to the actual business owner (not the processing bank) of $300,000.

  15. HVAC Repair Says:

    Any house from newly built to one built 200 years ago should have a comfortable interior all winter long.
    The good news is that a VPN (virtualprivate network) makes it completely possible to get the Hulu contentand at a reasonable price.
    We take pride in providing you clean service professionals who reach on
    scheduled time.

  16. Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  17. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.

    Bless you

  18. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on
    just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something
    informative to read?

  19. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

  20. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Safari.
    Superb Blog!


Leave a Reply

