Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

All Aboard February 29, 2008

Filed under: Jack Stories,Learning — Michelle @ 11:50 pm

pict8040.jpg

A few things that kept Jack going today…

pict8041.jpg

The sticker chart…notice how many are on the “I did it!” side!!

pict8042.jpg

His own “coffee

pict8044.jpg

Color Wonder finger paints…GENIUS!!

collage81.jpg

A few things that kept Jack’s Mommy going today…Starbucks, deep breaths of the perfect breeze coming in through my kitchen window, Jack’s nap, and Inko’s Apricot White Tea

bridgets-crocus.jpg

Oh, and one more thing…many thanks to Bridget for this crocus because it brought refreshment to my soul and helped me envision a beautiful and serene place where I don’t have to clean up potty accidents.  It truly helped me not to give up this afternoon!  I hope its ok that I borrowed it from you…I would love to see your garden in person someday, by the way…

 

(Not pictured that kept both Jack and Mommy going: Jelly Bellys)

 

If it wasn’t obvious enough, the big news in our home is that we have decided to “get on board the potty train” (many thanks to “Bear and the Big Blue House” for the really annoying song that is now in my head…)  Yes, my son is going on 3 1/2 years old.  And yes, we have “started” this process before…many times before…with very little success.  And when I say “very little,” I mean not really any at all.  Okay.  None.  But this time, thanks to a genius book that my friend Danielle let me borrow and the fact that this time around, I am more motivated (and sick of diapers and pull-ups) than I’ve ever been before, Jack (and me, too, if only in my attitude) is actually making pretty good progress!!!  And maybe the advice I kept hearing about how he would “get it when he’s ready” is more accurate than I thought…

 

The one thing nobody really told me was how exhausted I would be.  And this is only Day 2!  Good grief.  All I can say is, PRAISE THE LORD for the weekend.  And for a husband who brought home Panda Express for dinner. 

 

 In the midst of it all…the emotion, the frustration, the exhaustion, the consuming nature of the training process… I don’t want this to just be about “getting through the stage.”  It has been a sweet time of watching my little boy grow, try something new, and learn more about how to deal with success and failure.  I’ve learned that, like me, he doesn’t like to fail.  And that my response greatly dictates his.  The Lord was faithful today to allow me to show grace and compassion, and to fail a few times myself.  Even though I’m tempted to beat myself up for not responding rightly in every situation today, I’m so comforted to remember the nature of my Heavenly Father–that He gives grace and forgiveness freely…absolutely….perfectly…every time.  SO not like me.  He’s Who I want Jack to see.

 

9 Responses to “All Aboard”

  1. Becky Says:

    James was 3.5 when he finally got to know his potty chair. Interestingly, when James was 3.5, Jonathan was 1.5. And always wanting to copy his big brother, Jonathan actually potty-trained himself before he was 2 years old. Jeff and I were shocked (and THRILLED). So all my potty-training memories are of James, and they match your experience. You’re doing a great job.

    We have that DVD.

    The Mystic Order of Toileteers
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhh
    We call to you from across the years
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhh

  2. Ellen Says:

    Good for you Michelle in not beating yourself up! You are doing a wonderful job with Jackson. Blessings…

  3. Becky Says:

    LOL!

    My favorite is:

    Your tush is clean
    Your tush is dry
    Flush it down and wave goodbye

    Techincally, from a grammatical standpoint, they’re saying to flush your *tush* down and wave goodbye to it.

    Wouldn’t THAT be nice.

  4. Mary Lou Says:

    YEA for potty boy and his mommy! The “tried” side of the chart is awesome idea and all the “helpers” , especially the Starbucks sitting next to Jack 🙂
    Hang in there Michelle – You guys are doing GR8 !!

    Grace, Grace God’s Grace…….to you all.
    luv mom

  5. lis Says:

    YEA JACK!!! I’ve been praying for you!

  6. Lana G! Says:

    Too cute! Hang in there girl! Love the chart!

  7. andtheivy Says:

    Thanks for being real. Thanks for being my friend. Also, I was thinking… what did people do in ‘ye olden times’ when they needed to potty train? How totally annoying would that have been to go out to the outhouse every. single. time? Oh, and also, how about PRE-outhouse? Ack. I’m sure it his hard ENOUGH now, having indoor plumbing and potty charts and whatnot. I’m thankful you don’t have to deal with THAT. Praying for you, for Jack-Jack, and for the potty-times to come!

  8. Ralina Says:

    It will be over before you know it, hang in there!

    By the way, Serena enjoyed the pictures and was quite impressed by Jack’s fingerpainting =)


Leave a Reply

