Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

Purple Thoughts March 5, 2008

Filed under: Learning — Michelle @ 10:44 pm

Purple has been on my mind today. 

Purple lavender, lavender chrysanthemumsblackberry iced tea from Chili’s, and one indigo pansy.

collage9.jpg

Purple has been my favorite color since I knew what colors were.  Even though I don’t really decorate with purple anymore, buy everything in purple, or wear purple very often, I still can say that purple is my favorite.  It is refreshing and calming and happy all at the same time.  I love it.

 

  When I was my Jack’s age, I couldn’t say my “r’s”.  So “purple” became “puh-poh.”  But even then, I think knew the joys of purple.  And I’m pretty sure I knew the joys and sorrows of potty training, too.  My mom (who totally saved the day for me today…thanks, Mom!!) told me she can’t remember the exact ups and downs of my potty training process, just that I “regressed” when my sister was born.  But I know that she was patient with me through it all.  Just like I need to be with Jack.  Even though it doesn’t seem to be “clicking” as quickly as I hoped.  Even though with each day it seems like we take 2 steps forward and 1 (or sometimes 2) step(s) back.  Even though I’m feeling a little trapped, which makes me feel panicky.  Even though the uncertainty of future situations when we’re out and about, etc. are really overwhelming to me.  Even though I’m tired of…I’m just going to say it…pee. 

 

Here’s what was comforting to me today from the girltalk blog.  Have I talked about how much I love the girltalk blog?  Well I do.  Almost as much as I love purple

 

“All that is left is to do our duty; to get off the couch, to change the diaper; to go to work, to make the bed, to continue the potty training process with a strong-willed 3 year old (my addition)–whatever task is right in front of us.

It might be the last thing in the world we feel like doing, but God will provide the strength; and grace to endure will come as we obey. It’s a simple “way of escape” that this poem describes:

‘Many a questioning, many a fear,
Many a doubt, hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from Heaven,
Time, opportunity, guidance, are given.
Fear not tomorrows, Child of the King,
Trust them with Jesus, DO THE NEXT THING.

Do it immediately; do it with prayer;
Do it reliantly, casting all care;
Do it with reverence, tracing His Hand
Who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on Omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing,
Leave all resultings, DO THE NEXT THING.’ 

Step by step, next thing by next thing, God will be faithful to help us to glorify Him in these challenging seasons.”

 

Isn’t that so good??  For me, God was faithful today to provide a simple “way of escape” — the color purple.

 

4 Responses to “Purple Thoughts”

  1. Lana G! Says:

    Love Purple!

    Great Poem!

    Onward, just be happy pee is not purple! 🙂

  2. Leonard Says:

    and I remember you and “puh-poh” – sweet memories

  3. Ellen Says:

    Ahh. I was transported to that wonderful purple place through your collage. Just lovely. And as that great sage your uncle G. has said about many trials and we can apply it to this pee deal, “this too shall pass”. Blessings on all of us with the strength to do the next thing…

  4. Ralina Says:

    Such sweet thoughts from your day. I cannot ever see anything purple without thinking of you =). It still brings a warm smile to my face when I spot a “Ralina/Michelle.” Long live purple and green!!


Leave a Reply

