Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

6 1/2 Year Anniversary Pictures? March 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 9:29 pm

Lukas Van Dyke is an awesome photographer who goes to our church.  A bunch of our friends have gotten amazing pictures taken by him, and we were excited when we found out that he was going to do a fundraiser called “Portraits for Missions” where all the proceeds would go towards 2 trips he’s taking this summer.  We thought it would be a good opportunity to get some family pictures done professionally and support missions at the same time.  So, on the given day, we got all ready and headed over to Lukas’ studio. 

 (Side note: Jack and I had had a great day and had already talked about how much fun it would be to get pictures taken and that “if Jack and Daddy did a good job, Mommy would take the boys to In ‘n Out for dinner.”  Do you see where this is going?) 

Well, we arrived at the studio, and as we were waiting for our turn, had fun looking at all the pictures on the wall, etc.  Then, Lukas called us over, and for some reason that only God and Jack know, Jack FLIPPED OUT.  As if he had seen all the scary villians from all the Disney movies he’s ever seen (which aren’t too many) coming toward him and getting ready to eat his head off.  Only there weren’t any.  In fact, the studio was empty other than Lukas (who doesn’t look at all like a scary villian), Miss Jamie (she was a gift from the Lord that day, let me tell you), and us.  That’s it.  We tried our best to calm Jack down.  We comforted, pleaded, threatened, disciplined (yes, it did come to that), and then finally decided that Jamie would take Jack outside to distract him while Lukas took a few pictures of just Ryan and I.  Only the distraction didn’t work.  Well, it did as long as they stayed outside.  As soon as Jamie would try to bring Jack in, the frightened screams would resume.  And that was just it…I know I have a challenging 3-year old who is relishing his independence and often is VERY difficult to, shall we say, persuade when he gets an idea in his head.  But this was different.  It wasn’t the same defiance we often deal with from day to day…it was as if he was really genuinely scared.  Of what?  We’ll never know.  But at the end of the day, the only pictures we got were pictures of Ryan and I…no happy family pics like I planned.  Sigh.  And no, we did not go to In ‘n Out.  This was the day I learned my lesson: it isn’t really smart to promise a reward to your child when you want that reward, too.  Ryan said we should just go and get ourselves In ‘n Out, but I was so exhausted by the end of the whole thing that I didn’t want to perpetuate the madness any more than we needed to.  So we went home and Jamie came over and we had grilled cheese.

 So… here are some of our favorites.  Although it seems kind of random that we now have pictures of just Ryan and I, without Jack.  He’s way more interesting to look at, in my opinion.  I guess our moms will be happy, but that’s probably it.  And yet I felt the need to post them on my blog.  “Here you go…its…um… our 6 1/2 year anniversary, so we thought we would get pictures taken…of the 2 of us…for you to enjoy…”

pfm-day3-150.jpg

pfm-day3-151.jpg

pfm-day3-164.jpg

pfm-day3-168-2.jpg

pfm-day3-173.jpg

pfm-day3-177.jpg

This was when we were trying to coax our son into coming back in

pfm-day3-155.jpg

And here’s the only picture Jack appeared in

 

14 Responses to “6 1/2 Year Anniversary Pictures?”

  1. lis Says:

    I LOVE these pics!

  2. Sam Neylan Says:

    everything about that story is awesome AND the one pic of Jack’s back seals the deal. 🙂

  3. Ellen Says:

    What wonderful photos R & M! Love them all including Jack’s back!!

  4. Becky Says:

    I like the Ryan and Michelle alone pics. Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. Can I come over for a visit?

    And poor Jack! I remember a couple of times not being able to figure out what was wrong with James and feeling like a horrible mom afterward when his needs turned out to be legitimate and immediate. It’s hard being a little kid!

  5. Mary Lou Says:

    Yeah, pics of Jack are precious, but Michelle, you and Ryan take AWESOME pictures….you always have. The two of radiate! Now, where can I order some of these??? Even of that, ahhh, ! darling little Jack in his Daddy’s arm! That boy just doesn’t do formal photographers 😦

  6. Mom A Says:

    woops..the two of “you” radiate. and I thought I had put ” ” around ahhh. oh well. That’s me for ya.

  7. Lana G! Says:

    LOVE THESE!!!!!

  8. Jamie Says:

    Oh what an experience. :o) I really like the pictures of you and Ryan though. Even if Jack did flip out.

  9. Ralina Says:

    Serena had a fear of photographers at one point too…perhaps it’s an allergy of some sort???

    You two look fabulous!! Mich, I love your hair!!

  10. Leonard Says:

    i agree with Sam!
    love the black and whites the best

  11. Virginia Says:

    Michelle! These are great!! I esp. love the one where he’s kissing your forehead. So sweet.

  12. mindy martin Says:

    Michelle, I love these pics. I think it’s cute that you got pics of just the 2 of you even though it wasn’t planned. I love the one with the red background! Also, 6 1/2 years!!! Are you kidding me! Wow! It doesn’t feel like that’s possible! 🙂 Congrats!


Leave a Reply

