Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

Happy Birthday, Little Blog! July 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle @ 2:24 pm

 

 

Today is asimplesweetlife’s 1st birthday!  It also happens to be my 50th post, which makes the order-loving side of me very happy. 🙂  Thank you, dear readers, for journeying with me through life this year, and for all your encouraging thoughts and comments, which are like little presents I love to open!  The funny little world of blogging has brought joy and inspiration into my life, and the blogs I read often challenge my heart and draw my mind to Christ. 

 

I came across this prayer by John Fawcett in my reading recently, and thought it was fitting for today.  During this year, God has allowed me to see more of His grace as I see more of my sin, and as a result, the cross and the message of the Gospel have become even more dear to my heart.  I pray that my hunger for God and thirst for His Word would continue to grow in the coming year.

 

“You O God are unchangeable in Your nature, glorious in Your essence, wonderful in Your perfections, wise in Your counsels, and holy in all Your works. It is my greatest good and highest happiness–to enjoy Your favor, and to behold Your glory. Permit me to say, with Your servant Moses, ‘I beseech You, show me Your glory!’ Show me the glory of Your wisdom, Your holiness, Your power, Your grace, and Your mercy in Christ Jesus. This will give me a distaste for the gaudy vanities of the present world.  Your Divine beauty and infinite loveliness, as displayed in the glorious Mediator, will captivate my desires, inflame my love, and excite my joy and delight!”

“Therefore, to you who believe, He is precious…”

1 Peter 2:7

 

 

10 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Little Blog!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    A very happy blog birthday to you! And congratulations on your 50th post! Beautiful prayer…

  2. M Lou Says:

    Happy 1st bloggy birthday….beautiful hydrangea picture. What you said in the paragraph before J. Fawcett’s prayer, was even better!

  3. Kathy Says:

    Way to go, Michelle! Happy blogging to you. I enjoy reading all your thoughts and prayers.

  4. Holly Ann Says:

    Amen. And amen. Congratulations, friend! I love to read your thoughts. 🙂

  5. Polly Meredith Says:

    Happy Birthday, Blog! I love reading your posts; keep em’ coming!

  6. Ellen Says:

    Of course we can make a little side trip to the GW while you are here!!

  7. svet Says:

    Happy, happy birthday, little blog! It’s fun getting to know more about you this way! I’m encouraged by your faith!!! 1 & 50…very fun.

  8. Ralina Says:

    Loved the prayer…very much along the lines of our phone conversation what with the “show me your glory” reference =).

    Loved the wedding pics too!! Can’t believe Tim’s all grown-up! Wonder if Caleb recalls the extensive amounts of time I allowed him to play with my long hair…sticky three-year-old fingers and all!!

  9. Ralina Says:

    I realized when I submitted my last comment that my pix never shows up and its supposed to. Anyway, I think I fixed it, so this comment is just a test…we shall see!

  10. Noelle Says:

    Michelle, I love reading your blog and I should leave comments more often! By the way, your little guy was so handsome in his wedding clothes!!


Leave a Reply

