Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

My Northwest Getaway (Part 1) July 21, 2008

Filed under: Family and Friends,Fun,Summer — Michelle @ 11:40 pm

I’m home!!  I had such a wonderful and refreshing and adventurous and sweet and yummy and beautiful and all-by-myself vacation, but there’s truly no place like home.  Since my time in Washington was pretty much divided into 2 parts (time with family and time with friends for Susi’s wedding), I think I will post the 2 parts separately.  For now, here are a few highlights of time spent with sweet family members.  My trip began last Tuesday, and aside from a long delay in the airport security line, I had a nice uneventful flight.

 

Favorite parts of the flight: the clouds, my new ipod shuffle from my sister, ginger ale with lime (standard flying beverage of choice), and the view of Mt. Rainier just before we landed in Seattle

 

My dear friend Kate picked me up at the airport with her 3 munchkins, and we were able to spend some time together, which was so sweet, since we hadn’t seen each other in a year and a half!  We had dinner at Panera Bread, our favorite hangout, and then walked the mall for a while.  Kate has always been an inspiring example to me of intentional wife and motherhood and dedication to prayer and God’s Word.  Ashlyn and Jack were born 2 weeks apart and it was so much fun to see Weston and Hudson (not pictured), too!

 

 

On Wednesday we (my Aunt Ellen, cousin Josh and his wife Laura, and me) took the ferry from Edmonds to Kingston.  It was a breathtakingly beautiful day, but pretty windy on the ferry, as you can see!

 

After arriving in Kingston, we drove a little ways to Port Gamble, an absolutely adorable town, and headed for the Tea Room, where we shared a delightful afternoon tea and conversation.  Josh, who had never had the joy of taking afternoon tea, was a good sport and even donned the most masculine hat he could find!  We all agreed that tea is a very refined and relaxing activity.

 

After tea, we strolled through the town to see what we could see.  Here are some views of Port Gamble

 

 

We came across this beautiful view and had to stop and take pictures, of course!  Here are Laura and I…it is a special gift to be able to call someone a relative and a dear friend…Laura is that to me!

 

 

We also visited Buena Vista Cemetary at the top of the hill with a lovely view of Hood Canal, I think (is that right, Ellen?)

 

Josh found a headstone with this poem engraved on it:

Remember friend as you pass by,

As you are now so once was I;

As I am now you soon will be,

Prepare for death and follow me.

 

Our ferry ride back:

 

That evening we were joined for dinner by my other two Northwest cousins, Dan and Katie at PF Changs.  What a fun and wonderful day!!

 

Thursday morning, I took a walk in Josh and Laura’s neighborhood

 

Josh and I drove over to Aunt Ellen’s for lunch, and then Aunt Ellen and I took a quick trip over to the Goodwill to see what treasures we might find.  Somehow, the little trinkets people get rid of up there are way more interesting than the ones I’ve found at our local GW, and both my aunt Ellen and my aunt Lana seem to have the knack for finding all sorts of delightful things…by the way, we visited another GW with the addition of Laura and Lana on Saturday morning!  I will try to post about my finds later…

That evening, I ventured about 30 miles over to Susi and Jonathan’s rehearsal dinner all by myself (and managed to make it without getting lost!)  Stay tuned for wedding pics…

Thank you, dear family members, for your love and hospitality…I had a simply wonderful time with you!!

 

6 Responses to “My Northwest Getaway (Part 1)”

  1. Lana G! Says:

    Love it all! So good to see you in the Northwest.

  2. Ellen Says:

    I love your collages. Yes that’s looking towards Hood Canal. The Hood Canal Bridge is just out of view in this shot. Hey our hair in that one photo is Runway material :0)
    It was nice to have you here and to have some adventures!

  3. Laura Says:

    It was an absolute joy to have you here! I’m so thankful for you. Love you dear friend.

  4. Ellen Says:

    Ok I have to add the comment that Kelly left on my blog about the epitaph on that grave. Here it is..

    In response to the tombstone engraving you found… Supposedly on another one with the same inscription these words were scratched in.

    To follow you I’m not content
    Until I know which way you went.

    Just had to pass that along – enjoy…

  5. Ralina Says:

    What a fun getaway!! Panera is also my FAVORITE hangout…it figures that we would discover another thing in common without ever having discussed it before =).

  6. M Lou Says:

    Glad you had such a great time away. The Northwest looks just beautiful. And…..I drink gingerale all the time, I’ll have to try lime in it! Can’t wait to see you soon in the “Midwest”!


Leave a Reply

