Wait for it…

Living a simple sweet life, and learning to wait on the Lord

“Special Surprise Snack” August 29, 2008

Filed under: Fun,Ideas for Kids — Michelle @ 7:57 pm

I just recently discovered an amazing blog, with fun crafts, recipes and ideas for families.  I LOVE it!  I don’t consider myself a super creative person, and love to get ideas from other people, so this blog has become one of my best blog friends.  And I’ve only read a few of the posts!!

 

This morning, Jack was watching one of his new PBS Kids favs, “Caillou” (pronounced “cah-you”), a kind of weird but fun show about a little 4-year old bald boy (haven’t figured out why he doesn’t have any hair…) and his mostly realistic growing up adventures.  I appreciate the fact that Caillou has two parents, a mom and a dad, who love each other and, for the most part, show a good example of parenting and values.  I do occasionally have to make comments about how “we should be thankful instead of whining about things, even when we don’t get what we want”, etc., and the narrator’s voice is a tad bit annoying, but…

WOW.  I did not mean to spend so much time on Caillou…because that’s SO not the main point of my story. 

 

The reason I brought it up at all is that in the episode Jack was watching, Caillou’s mom made a “Special Surprise Cake” and it got me thinking that I should do “Special Surprise” things for my family more often.  Then, this afternoon, I finally had some time to look at flipflops & applesauce, the blog I mentioned above (isn’t that a great name?), and there was an idea for a snack that looked super cute, super easy, and healthy too!  Right then, Jack asked me if he could have a snack.  And, my very first “Special Surprise Snack” was born.

 

I decided to call it…wait for it…Spotted Special Surprise Snack!! (I know…genius name, isn’t it?  I told you I wasn’t super creative… 🙂 )

 

Here’s all you need…a red apple, soy butter (if you’re worried about your child’s pb allergy like I am), chocolate chips, and raisins (I added those in for variety…if you wanted to, I guess you could make it even more healthy by cutting out the chocolate chips and just using raisins.  But I used both.)

Cut the apple in half, then in half again lengthwise.  I sliced it an extra time for easier handling by little hands.  (Note: On my first half, I didn’t core the apple first…so I made a mess.  My second half turned out much better.)  Cut the top portion into a “T”, so the top is the head and the two bottom slices are the wings  I didn’t get a step-by-step shot of this, and I don’t think I explained it very well, but you’ll see what I mean below.  🙂 

 

I did manage to capture this excited face…I made him wait outside the kitchen while I got everything ready, and he could hardly contain himself.  🙂

 

Here it is! Spotted Special Surprise Snack!  I put 2 raisins on for the eyes and used the chocolate chips for the spots.  I used too much soy butter (it’s definitely more runny than peanut butter), so  next time I’ll keep that in mind and use less, but I thought it still turned out pretty cute.

 

And let me tell you…it was a BIG hit around here!  Jack loved it!  Here’s the silly face he made when I told him to smile…

 

 

Yummy!!

 

Thanks, Chrissie, for all your wonderful ideas!  I can’t wait to spend more time on your blog.  🙂

 

 

5 Responses to ““Special Surprise Snack””

  1. Ellen Says:

    That is great ! I think you were very crafty! :0)

  2. M Lou Says:

    Way to go Michelle…I think you made a real hit with J ‘+’
    I remember making “penny” sandwiches with little cuts of hot dogs and also “butterfly” sandwickes (I think everyone knows that one)….but never thought about adding “spots” to the butterfly!!!

  3. Sam Neylan Says:

    awesome! I’ve already passed it on to a mom friend of mine!
    Good job!

  4. Heather Says:

    This is so cute! I will have to make it with sunflower butter for Jackson!
    My son is allergic to Soy, Peanuts, Eggs, Wheat and Dairy. Anyway I have a site I thought you might be interested in, http://www.spewdfree.com
    There are lots of great peanut free recipes!
    Thanks

  5. Martha Says:

    How much fun is that! Might have to try that this week!

    Had to tell you I agree with you on Caillou! LOL I think he doesn’t get in trouble enough either…. there are never any consequences for him…. !


Leave a Reply

